The Aftermath… my postpartum days.

Supermums unite! Everymum is a supermum! It’s not only the prolonged 10 months of pregnancy. The endurance of labour, the pain, the pressure, the miracle revelation of an actual human baby making an appearance into the world. The utter relentless need that baby has for you. Nobody prepares you for the first few postpartum days, but these I believe are what ingrain the ‘Supermum’ status in us all and for years and years beyond…!

If you haven’t heard of Constance Hall, she is the Aussie Queen of all Queens… read her book! www.likeaqueen.com Here is an excerpt from her book. *Warning* There are a lot of expletive detail, but she pretty much sums it up beautifully.

***”It is totally understandable to be in complete and utter shock over what you have gone through. I know you have 25 stitches in your fanny or tummy, you have a catheter in, your milk hasn’t come in yet and there is still a needle in your spine, But here’s your baby, good luck doll… Byeee! and BAM you’re a mum. You need to be prepared for this shit… As if having nurses poke and prod your boobs every 3 hours, having a little bundle of foreignness wrapped up in a bassinet and still being n agony from C-section or vag birth aren’t enough to bring on the baby blues, along comes your first ‘After Birth Poo.’ I believe it is possibly more painful than actual labour, I do not know why we aren’t allowed to keep our epidural in at least until we get the first turd out because good grief…it’s not easy.***

I have since edited this because I started just waffling out my whole birth story, so I’ve tried to condense it…

Pip was born Summer 2014 at 05;52. I was tired. I was scared to move. I was sore and numb. My back and hips were sore from pushed lying on my back for 3 hours. And I barely had any pain relief. I needed a wee. I filled 3 sick bowls with wee. The walk to the shower was precarious. My legs were wobbly like I’d ran a marathon, my belly was jelly, and I felt like I had a gaping black hole and the rest of my insides were about to fall out!

After stealing a number of maternity pads, we were allowed home early afternoon. We stopped at the pharmacy to get liquid laxative as advised! Still high on the hormones, euphoria, endorphins and the overwhelming  parental responsibility, the next morning I made Hubs pancakes! Eh?! The next day I got DOMS like I’d been hit by a bus. My whole body ached. My coccyx was agony for weeks, and I didn’t poo for 14 days! My boobs got huge and hard and veiny. There was a lot of bleeding and lot of tears. Standard.

IMG_0590
Day 1 – before I could comprehend what just happened.

Baby #2. You don’t forget labour, but I had forgotten the early postpartum days. Moo was born early morning Summer 2016. We had to stay in for at least 12 hours to monitor glucose levels. I had not packed my hospital bag effectively, assuming I’d be home sooner. So I didn’t have nearly enough undies nor pads, nappies or vests. I forgot about the bleeding. I was super tired this time, overwhelmed yes, but not euphoric or heroic. My body didn’t hurt near as much but I put that down to constant movement through labour and a water birth. Finally we got home and all I wanted was to enjoy a rest with my new bundle, but Hubs insisted on picking up Pip from Granny’s.

Mr iron was low. My belly took a lot longer to shrink. I had a suspected DVT in my calf. I didn’t get a second to assess myself let alone moan about pain, swelling or tiredness. I was in the supermarket day 3 buying bigger maternity bras. And thats all I can really remember. Mum’s of 2 under 2, nod of respect. 3? I salute you. 4+? you’re utterly crazy. So I’m not sure if those postpartum days are any easier, but you deal with them better, because you have no choice.

Following Queen Constance’s postpartum recommendations:

Limit your visitors – by quality not quantity. Surround yourself with people that will generally help, support, not take offence, bring food and clean.

Don’t take midwives or health visitor advice too personally – personality clashes are expected and with every healthcare professional, everyone has their own opinions.

Baby Blues – A powerful release of hormones, anxiety and frustrations, don’t fear the release. At such an emotional and overwhelming time in your life the most important thing you can do is let it go.

After birth Poo – take the laxatives if they’re offered, take them!

Give yourself a mahussive pat on the back. Well done mumma, you made it! Now bring on the mayhem…! x

Leave a Reply

